Candidates for local nonpartisan races met the June 7 deadline, however, more may appear on the ballot come November as official write-in candidates.

Perhaps the most surprising is Rob Rothenburger, who filed his intent to run as a write-in candidate against sitting Shelby County Judge-Executive Dan Ison, who won the May Primary.

One other candidate, Thomas Young, is an official write-in candidate for District 3 Magistrate against Joey Riddle. Will anyone else throw their proverbial hat in the ring? Write-in candidates must file by 4 p.m. on Oct. 28.

Partisan races

Shelby County Judge-Executive

Incumbent Dan Ison won the May primary, defeating Thomas Kough, however, Shelbyville Fire Chief Rob Rothenburger has filed a statement of intent with the Kentucky Secretary of State Office of Election Finance to file his intention to run as an official write-in candidate in the fall.

County Clerk

Tony Harover won the Republican Primary in May.

Shelby County Fiscal Court

Ross Webb, Democrat incumbent, will square off against former Shelbyville City Council member Jon Swindler, Republican, in District 1.

In District 2, Karen Waller, Republican, won the Republican Primary, unseating Charlie Metzger, and she is unopposed in the General Election.

Republican Joey Riddle will run against Democrat Mary Stratton for District 3 Magistrate, and Tom Young is an official write-in candidate for the same seat on Shelby County Fiscal Court. Young had withdrawn from the Republican Primary ballot in May due to an issue with paperwork; it was too late to remove his name from the already printed ballot, so votes for him in the Primary did not count.

District 4, incumbent Bill Hedges, Republican of Pleasureville, is running unopposed.

Incumbent Gene Witt, District 5 Republican, won the Primary and is unopposed in the General.

Incumbent Danny Eads, Republican of Finchville, is unopposed.

Incumbent Brock Lisby, Republican is unopposed for the District 6 seat.


Incumbent Darrell Cox, Republican, is unopposed. He beat Jeff Bell in the Republican Primary in May.


Incumbent Timothy Mark Moore, Republican, ran unopposed in the Primary and is unopposed for Sheriff in November.


Wayne Ivers of Shelbyville is running unopposed for District 1 constable.

No candidates filed for District 2 constable.

Chris Kleymeyer, Republican, is unopposed for District 3 constable of Shelbyville.

Republican Steve Allen Adams will contend with Democrat Brandon “Waldo” Berry for District 4 constable to cover Bagdad.

Republican Brandon Bradley won the May Republican Primary. He will face Democrat Bobby Lacer.

Constable District 6 candidate R. Nicholas Yount, Republican of Waddy, is running unopposed in District 6.

No candidates filed for District 7 constable.

Nonpartisan Races

Mayoral races

Troy Ethington and Shane Suttor, both on the current Shelbyville City Council, filed to run in November, as did Norris Beckley. Current mayor David Eaton chose to not run again.

Ronald L. Sowder, Jr. is alone on the November ballot so far as he runs for Simpsonville Mayor. Current Mayor Cary Vowels decided to not run.

Incumbent W. M. Rodney Young is running unopposed for Pleasureville mayor.

Shelbyville Council

Familiar names are running for one of six seats on Shelbyville City Council, including current council members Tom Hardesty, Frank Page, Pam Carter and Mike Zoeller. Challengers are Georgina Roberts Ivers, Christina Olsson, William Lee Roberts Jr., Amy Smitha, Mannie Stone and Sally Pollett Zaring.

Simpsonville Commissioners

No surprises for Simpsonville City Commission. Current commissioners Ashley Emmons, Kelland L. Garland, Michael Hesse and Scott McDowell are running unopposed for reelection.

Pleasureville City Council

Incumbent Kemberley Holthouser will run against Tami Perry and Tim Taylor for seats on the 4-member council.

School Board

Andrew Cline is running unopposed in District 1.

Joanna Freels, current board chair, and Melissa R. Munford will appear on the District 4 ballot.

No other districts are up for election this year.


Jeff Ivers, current coroner, is unopposed.

County surveyor

George R. Best is unopposed in the November election.

Conservation District

Bob Gravett, Philip Wade McCoun and Fred Rothenburger will run.

County Attorney

Carrie Insco McIntyre of Finchville is unopposed.


Brad McDowell, Democrat of Simpsonville, is running unopposed.


Ky. Supreme Court Justice, 6th District (nonpartisan)

Joseph M. Fischer, Fort Thomas versus Michelle M. Keller, Fort Mitchell.

Court of Appeals, 6th District (nonpartisan)

Challengers are Allison Jones, La Grange; Susanne Cetrulo, Edgewood; and Robert A. Winter, Edgewood.

Circuit Court, 53rd District

Melanie H. Brummer, Shelbyville, is unopposed.

District Court, 53rd District

Linda Dixon Bullock, Shelbyville; Laura Witt, Lawrenceburg; Amanda Wills Cypert, Simpsonville; and Donna Dutton, Shelbyville will vie for district court judge.

Circuit Family Court, 53rd District

S. Marie Hellard, Lawrenceburg, is unopposed.

US and State Races

US Senate

Challenger Charles Booker, Democrat, will face incumbent Republican Rand Paul.

US Congress, 4th District

Incumbent Republican Thomas Massie versus challengers Matthew Lehman, Democrat; and Ethan Keith Osbourne, independent.

Kentucky House, 58th District

Jennifer Hanson Decker is unopposed for Kentucky Representative.